Table of Contents
- Statement of Policy
- Parking on Campus
- Driving on Campus
- Loss of parking privileges
- Stored, Abandoned, or Disabled Vehicles
- Parking Appeals
This vehicle code applies to all vehicles operated on the William Jessup University campus and properties under its control for educational or residential purposes. The operation of a motorized vehicle, bicycle, roller blades, or skateboard on the WJU campus is a privilege granted by the university administration to facilitate vehicular movement, maximize parking, and enhance safety. It is the expectation of the university that employees, students, and visitors will comply with this vehicle code for the sake of safety and consideration of others.
Article 1: Statement of Policy
Section 1: Application
The following regulations apply to all students, employees, guests and visitors of the university.
Section 2: Basic Expectations
All individuals who operate a vehicle on the WJU campus agree to:
A. Obtain, read, and abide by the vehicle code of WJU.
B. Be currently registered, licensed and insured in accordance with California law.
C. Will hold the university and its employees exempt from all claims of injuries to persons or damage to property.
D. Obtain a WJU issued parking permit.
Section 3: Insurance
WJU neither warrants the safety of vehicles nor assumes the responsibility for loss due to theft, vandalism, accident, or damage while the vehicle is on university property. All students, faculty and staff are required to carry the appropriate insurance coverage as required by the state to operate a vehicle, and are encouraged to elect coverage inclusive of theft, vandalism or ther accidental damage.
Section 4: Exemptions for Personnel
Exemptions Campus Safety vehicles are exempt from rules and regulations in performance of office duties.
Section 5: California Code
All provisions of the California vehicle code (per CVC21111.3) are applicable on the university campus except as modified by the WJU vehicle code.
Article 2: Parking on Campus
Section 1: Handicap Parking
Handicap parking is reserved for disabled persons at all times. Only vehicles properly displaying a special handicap state license plate or state issued placard as pursuant to Section 22511.5 of the California State Vehicle Code are able to park in such designated spaces. Vehicles illegally parked in a handicap space will receive a ticket/fine of $250.
Section 2: Illegal Parking
No person shall stop, park, or leave running any vehicle, attended or unattended, in any of the following places:
A. On a sidewalk, lawn, or landscaped area
B. In a passageway, walkway, or doorway of any building
C. Blocking or obstructing handicap ramp or access
D. Posted fire lane
E. Red Zone
F. Parked or blocking driving lanes
G. Double parked or blocking other vehicles
H. Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant
I. Anywhere outside the ringroad (Atherton Way)
Section 3: Residential Parking
Residence hall parking is located behind the activities building. Apartment Resident parking is located in the garage underneath the apartments or behind the activities building. Additional parking for both residence hall and apartments is permitted adjacent to Facilities on the inside of the ringroad. No resident may park at any other location. All Staybridge Residents and their guests are required to park in the Staybridge Parking Lots closest to the Freeway or those located behind Sportsman’s Warehouse. Staybridge residents are permitted to park in the commuter lots at the front of the campus.(Please refer to Campus map for further clarification)
Section 4: Towing
Any vehicle in violation of parking regulations is subject to towing at the owner’s expense if vehicle is not removed in a timely manner.
Article 3: Driving on Campus
Section 1: Failure to obey
No driver shall disobey any traffic control sign, or roadway marking while on campus.
Section 2: Excessive speed
No person shall operate a vehicle exceeding 25 MPH.
Section 3: Unsafe passing
Vehicles stopped for pedestrians; passing without sufficient clearance; when view is obstructed.
Section 4: Permitted person(s) to ride where unlawful
A. No driver shall allow any person(s) to ride on any vehicle or upon any portions thereof not designed or intended for the use of passengers.
B. No person(s) shall ride on top of any vehicle or upon any portions
Section 5: Hitching rides
No driver of a motor vehicle shall allow any person on a motorcycle, motorized bicycle, bicycle, roller skates, in-line skates, skateboard, or toy vehicle to be attached to a vehicle in any way.
Section 6: Sidwalks
No driving on sidewalk or landscaped areas of the university is permitted. Maintenance and Campus Safety staff is exempt in the performance of their duties.
Section 7: Helmets are required
The driver and any passenger on a motorcycle, scooter, moped, or motorized bicycle must wear a properly fitting safety helmet CVC27802 (A)
Section 8: Sound amplification devices
No driver shall operate or permit the operation of a radio system on campus that can be heard 50ft or more outside the vehicle.
Section 9: Headsets or Earplugs
No person operating any motor vehicle or bicycle shall wear any headset or earplugs in both ears while on campus. Hearing devices are exempt.
Section 10: Reckless Driving
No person shall drive any vehicle on university property in a manner demonstrating a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of any persons or property.
Section 11: Exhibition Speed
No driver(s) will race or break traction with the roadway surface (burnout) while on university property.
Section 12: Failure to Obey Directions
No driver shall fail to obey any order, sign, or direction of any Maintenance or Campus Safety Personnel.
Section 13: Failure to Stop/evading
No driver shall fail to stop, evade, flee, or otherwise attempt to elude university personnel.
Section 14: Vehicle Alarms
Any vehicle that has sounded for more than 15 minutes, or has produced a complaint directed to the Department of Campus Safety, will be in violation of excessive noise.
A. First offense will constitute a written warning.
B. Second offense could result in a warning and fine.
C. Third offense will constitute a fine with an order that the system must be adjusted with proof of repair or adjustment.
D. Fourth offense will constitute loss of parking privileges on campus until proper proof of repair or adjustment can be shown and the problem has been resolved.
Note: Failure to comply with Article 3, Sections 1, 10, 11, 12 may result in loss of driving and parking privileges, a $20 fine or both.
Article 4: Loss of parking privileges
Section 1: Habitual Traffic Offender
A. Any person(s) who has received three or more warnings during the academic year (July 1- June 30).
B. Any person(s), students or employee that is in violation of, and does not comply in a timely manner with (Article 1, Section 2b), regarding current registration, license and insurance in accordance with California Law vehicle code, (per CVC 21111.3).
Note: Any person(s) in violation of the above listed policy may face loss of all driving and parking privileges on the WJU campus and/or may be subject to a $20 penalty.
Article 5: Fines
Section 1: Fines
Fines listed are for the offense of that violation.
5.1.1 No valid parking permit displayed $20.00
5.1.2 Unauthorized use of disabled parking $250.00
5.1.3 Parked in no parking space/area $20.00
5.1.4 Parked in reserved space/visitor parking/restricted lot $20.00
5.1.5 Parked in two spaces $20.00
5.1.6 Blocking driveway or access $20.00
5.1.7 Blocking fire lane access $50.00
5.1.8 Driving on sidewalk, off-road, or landscaped area $50.00
5.1.9 Exhibition of speed, unsafe passing, or excessive speed $50.00
Section 2: Payment of fines
Fines will be added to the student account. Offenders will have ten (10) days from the issue date to appeal in writing to Campus Safety.
Article 6: Stored, Abandoned, or Disabled Vehicles
Section 1: Unattended Vehicles
No faculty, staff or student may leave a vehicle unattended or parked for longer than ten days.
A. Vehicles that remain parked or unattended (not being used regularly) will be considered a “stored” vehicle. This vehicle will be issued a written notice and will have seven (7) days to remove the vehicle from campus.
B. Inoperable or abandoned vehicles may be towed away at owner’s expense. CVC 22658 (A).
Section 2: Repairs
No student shall initiate major repairs of a vehicle on the campus without securing written permission from the Director of Campus Safety in advance of the work to be completed.
• If you change your engine oil, it must be disposed of according to city regulations, which means under no circumstances is waste oil to be poured on the ground, placed in a school dumpster, or flushed down a toilet. Waste oil must be delivered to a recycling center.
• Dead auto batteries must also be disposed of legally; they may not be placed in or near the campus dumpsters. Batteries must be delivered to an appropriate recycling center.
Article 7: Parking Appeals
Section 1: Administrative Review
An administrative review of all citations will be granted if the appeal is made within ten (10) days of the issuance of the citation. A Parking citation appeal form should be prepared (please see above link) and submitted to the campus security office located in student life. Once a decision has been rendered you will be notified in writing
Section 2: Appeals committee
The appeals committee is comprised of members of the student body as appointed by the Associated Student Body of William Jessup University.
Section 3: Appeals hearing
Appeals hearings will be performed to review all citation appeals at least three times per semester. Students may specifically request an in-person hearing. Students requesting an in-person hearing must also submit a written appeal with their request for an in-person hearing.